About Us

EFAC is the realization of the dream of some members of Anglican Church, who had had personal encounter with our Lord Jesus Christ, to worship God in the liberty they had found at a time when the church in Nigeria was so lithurgical and there was a great gap between what the scriptures stipulated and what was being practiced in the church.

EFAC was founded in England in 1961 and later introduced in Nigeria in 1978 but was inaugurated in 1979. It was not until 1987 that EFAC Enugu Zone was inaugurated, 8 years after the EFAC National was inaugurated. This delay was as a result of very stiff opposition to allowing Christian brethren to operate in the church then. It had to take a very turbulent crisis in the Enugu Diocese in which Christian brethren played very positive roles in resolving, for the then Bishop of Enugu Diocese, Rt. Rev. G. N. Otubelu to direct that EFAC be started in the churches in the Diocese. We thank God for the patience and resilience of the pioneers of Enugu Zone of EFAC.

At the beginning, the Zone operated as one entity. Later, the following subzones were created, namely
i. Enugu – Bro. Peter Okoye as the Subzonal Coordinator
ii. Udi – Engr. Dr. N. A. G. Aneke as the Subzonal Coordinator
iii. Nsukka – Bro. Omeke as Subzonal Coordinator
iv. Abakaliki – Bro. Onyekonwu as the Subzonal Coordinator

The Zonal Coordinator then was Bro. S. C. A. Chukuka. He is now a retired Bishop while three of the pioneer Subzonal Coordinators, except for Abakaliki, have become Reverends.

Nsukka and Abakaliki Subzones have since become full-fledged Zones following the creation of Oji-River, Nsukka and Abakaliki Dioceses respectively.

Enugu Zone has also undergone a number of subdivisions, having presently 13 Subzones comprising of Uwani, Ogui, Asata, Abakpa, Awkunanaw, Ngwo, Isuawaa, Awgu, Oduma, Agbani, Amagunze, Emene and Ninth Mile. Each of these Subzones is headed by a Subzonal Coordinator.

The creation of Enugu North , Awgu-Aninri and Nike Dioceses brought about some restructuring which gave birth to Ninth-Mile Subzone from Ngwo Subzone and Emene Subzone from former Asata, etc.

Other Zonal Coordinators of EFAC Enugu Zone so far have been Rev. Dr. N. A. G. Aneke (now Archdeacon and Professor) who succeeded Bro. Sam C. A. Chukuka (now a retired Bishop), followed by Rev. Canon L. C. Ojih (now retired Archdeacon). Bro. Rob Okafor became the 1st Lay Zonal Coordinator of the Zone followed by Bar Josiah Onyema, then Engr G. C. Uzoho the current Zonal Coordinator.

Presently, EFAC Groups are found in virtually all the churches in Enugu, Enugu North, Nike and Awgu-Aninri Dioceses.